Jun 19, 2018  
Course Catalog 2012-2013 
Course Catalog 2012-2013 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Cognitive Sciences Concentration

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences, Degree Programs and Requirements

The Cognitive Sciences Concentration at Oberlin focuses on the study of human cognition from many perspectives ranging from the investigation of single neurons in the brain, to the analysis of the cognitive process of the individual, to the examination of complex decision making in social groups. The concentration is intended to familiarize students with the different methodological approaches used to investigate human cognition. Given the concentration’s interdisciplinary nature, students will be required to take relevant courses from several fields of inquiry including psychology, neuroscience, computer science, economics, philosophy and anthropology.

Concentration Requirements

The following core courses in psychology and neuroscience are required for the concentration.  Note that NSCI 201 or 204 can act as the prerequisite for PSYC219

Core Courses

Elective Courses

In addition to the core course requirement, students must take four electives. To ensure breadth, each of the four elective courses must be from a different department. Students should be aware that some of the below listed elective courses have prerequisites and should plan their schedules accordingly. An appropriate three-credit private reading or other non-listed course offering may count as one of the electives upon approval by the Cognitive Sciences Chair.

Anthropology (ANTH)

Computer Science (CSCI)

Economics (ECON)

Hispanic Studies (HISP)

Music Theory (MUTH)

Neuroscience (NSCI)

Philosophy (PHIL)

Psychology (PSYC)

Additional Information

Any student, regardless of major or minor, can pursue a Cognitive Sciences Concentration. The Cognitive Sciences Concentration does not substitute for a major or minor. Its completion will be noted on the student’s final transcript along with majors, minors, and Honors. No course with a grade below C-/CR/P may be used for the Cognitive Sciences Concentration. Students wishing to pursue the concentration should consult with one of the faculty members of the Cognitive Sciences Concentration Committee: Michael Loose, Chair (Neuroscience), Joy Hanna (Psychology), Al Porterfield (Psychology), Luis Fernandez (Economics), Martin Thomson-Jones (Philosophy), and Richard Salter (Computer Science). For further information or to see recent updates, see our web site at www.oberlin.edu/cogsci.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences, Degree Programs and Requirements