Apr 02, 2023  
Course Catalog 2022-2023 
Course Catalog 2022-2023 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Cognitive Sciences Minor

The minor consists of a minimum of 6 full courses (or the equivalent).

Note: Students must earn minimum grades of C- or P for all courses that apply toward the minor.

Cognitive science is a multidisciplinary field investigating cognition or thought. Cognitive scientists examine the structures and processes that underlie a creature’s ability to think and reason. They also explore closely related cognitive phenomena, including perception, recognition, memory, communication, and consciousness. They do so through an integration of perspectives and methodologies from a variety of disciplines including anthropology, biology, computer science, linguistics, mathematics, music theory, neuroscience, philosophy, and psychology.

Oberlin College’s cognitive sciences minor provides students with a broad perspective on the study of cognition, ranging from the study of a single neuron, to brain systems and processes, to complex behavior. Because cognitive science is a multidisciplinary field of study, students must take relevant courses from several fields of inquiry.

 Visit the Cognitive Sciences webpage for more information.

Students wishing to complete the cognitive sciences minor should consult with a member of the curricular committee and complete the Interdivisional or Arts & Sciences Minor form. The form requires the signature of the committee chair.

Sara Verosky (Psychology)

arrow See the full list of Cognitive Science Curricular Committee Members

Cognitive Sciences Minor Course Lists

Return to the summary of requirements.


  • If a student is enrolled in or has completed a course that is not listed below, they can petition the curricular committee to apply the course toward the minor.
  • Students should be aware that some of the below listed courses have prerequisites and should plan their schedules accordingly.

Cognitive Sciences Minor Elective Courses

Return to the summary of requirements.

Note: Elective courses must be taken from different departments.

Cognitive Science Curricular Committee

Return to the summary of requirements.

Sara Verosky (Psychology), chair
Molly Feldman (Computer Science)